NPP polls: Stephen Ntim wins Chairmanship race after 5 attempts

Social Share

Stephen Ayensu Ntim has been elected as the chairman of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) after 5 attempts at the just ended national delegates conference of the party in Accra.

He won by a landslide victory of 4,014 votes (72%) to beat his close contender, Stephen Asamoah Boateng who 1010 votes.

Mr. Ntim was elected as Chairman of the NPP at the party’s National Delegates Conference held at the Accra Sports stadium. He takes over from Freddie Blay, who has served in such a position since 2015.

Address after swearing-in

Addressing the delegates after he and other elected officers had been sworn into office, Mr. Ntim noted that “after twenty years of wandering in the wilderness before getting this far, I am going to cherish the chairmanship position, I will value the chairmanship position and I will make sure that it remains enviable”.

He assured that as the new party Chairman, “the new executive will work assiduously for the party to win election 2024.”

Read Also: Nana Addo thanks Organized Labour on COLA agreement

His unsuccessful attempts to become the National chairman

He however served as the party’s first Vice Chairman between 2001 and 2005.

Mr. Ntim’s first attempt to be chairman of the party was in December 2005. His second attempt was in 2010 while his third attempt was in 2014. He again lost on the fourth attempt to Freddie Blay in 2018.


Social Share

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.